Ecclesiastical Details

Archdiocese of Ranchi
Heirarchy of the Diocese
Population: 2,912,022
Catholics: 150419
Diocesan Priests: 62
  Total area:
?83566 sq. kms.
Religious Priests: 178
Religious Sisters: 720
St. Francis Xavier
  Languages: Hindi Mundari Kharia Oraon Sadri and English.
  Civil States:

Ranchi Subdivision and Lohardaga District.

Contact Archdiocese of Ranchi:
Archbishop's House Post Box No. 5 Purulia Road Ranchi 834 001 JHARKHAND
Telephone 1:
0651-23 50 728 / 0651-23 50 144
23 50 144
E-Mail Office:
Most Rev. Felix Toppo SJ, Archbishops of Ranchi
Most Rev. Felix Toppo SJ
Archbishops     E-mail (P):
Canonical Possession:
2018-     Telephone (P): 0651-23 50 684
Other Present & Retired Ordinaries of the Archdiocese of Ranchi
Bishop NameDesignationPeriod
Most Rev. Telesphore Bilung SVD Aux.Bishop
Most Rev. Theodore Mascarenhas Aux.Bishop
His Eminence Telesphore P Cardinal Toppo Retired 1986-2018
Pilgrim Centres in theArchdiocese of Ranchi
Ecclesiastical Institutions
Social / Charitable Institutions / Care Centres
Educational Institutions
Degree Colleges:
Major Seminaries:
Technical Training Centres:
Minor Seminaries:
Special Schools:
High Schools:
Lower Primary Schools:
Counselling Centres:
Presses & Media Centres:
Formation Houses:
Social Centres:
Professional Colleges:
Retreat Centres:
Dispensaries / Clinics:
Parallel Colleges:
Physically Challenged:
Higher Secondary :
Boarding Houses:
Upper Primary Schools:
HIV / AIDS Centres:
Nurseries/Pre-Primary :
De-addiction Centres:
          Aged & Destitute: 1        
History of the Archdiocese of Ranchi
The first Belgian Jesuit to enter Chotanagpur was Fr Auguste Stockman. He traveled by bullock cart from Midnapur and after a difficult journey of a fortnight reached Chaibasa on November 25 1868. His work among the Ho tribe did not yield results so he moved towards Ranchi district in January 1875. ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?
Other Belgian Jesuits came to Ranchi in 1877 to act as military chaplains to the troops at Doranda (Ranchi). As the prospects of evangelization among the tribals of Chotanagpur were bright the first mission stations were opened among the Mundas. However the real impetus came from Fr Constant Lievens who arrived at Doranda on March 18 1885. He is often called the Apostle of Chotanagpur. He left Ranchi on August 26 1892 a broken man. He died at Leuven in Belgium on November 7 1893. A century later on November 7 1993 his mortal remains were re-interred in the Ranchi Cathedral. His Cause for Beatification was officially inaugurated at Moorslede in the Diocese of Brugge (Belgium) on March 15 2001.
To assist the Missionaries the Loreto Sisters from Ireland opened a Convent in the red Lodge on Purulia Road Ranchi in march 1890. It was here that the Daughters of St. Anne a Diocesan Congregation had their beginning in 1897. The Ursuline Sisters of Tildonk Belgium established themselves in the same compound on January 13 1903.
By 1927 the Ranchi Mission had developed to such an extent that by decree of the Holy See dated May 25 1927 it was separated from the Calcutta Archdiocese to form a new Diocese with Ranchi as its Episcopal seat and Msgr. Louis Van Hoeck sj as the first bishop. He was succeeded by Rt. Rev. O. Sevrin sj in1934 who was pastor for 18 years (1934 - 1952).

As the faith spread and took firm root in Chotanagpur the Catholic Church was being built up and developed especially through parishes and schools. Soon the rapid growth of the mission made it imperative to call in other labourers the S.V.D. Fathers the Australian and American Jesuits.

For better pastoral care of the faithful the vast Archdiocese of Ranchi was divided and on June 14 1951 the Diocese of Sambalpur gave birth to Rourkela Diocese on July 4 1979 and Ambikapur became a separate diocese on December 14 1977. On September 19 1953 the Diocese of Ranchi was raised to the status of an Archdiocese with Sambalpur and Cuttack as its suffargans. On July 2 1962 the Diocese of Jamshedpur was created. Then in 1968 the Diocese of Patna and Bhagalpur and the Prefecture of Balasore were made suffragans of Ranchi Archdiocese. Again on June 5 1971 the Diocese of Daltonganj comprising the civil districts of Hazaribagh (which itself became a diocese on May 12 1995) and Palamau was carved out of the Archdiocese of Ranchi. In 1980 Muzaffarpur Diocese was formed from a part of Patna Diocese and made suffragan of Ranchi.
The Andamans and Nicobar Islands became part of Ranchi in 1947 and were since 1966 under the care of the Pilar Fathers and became a new Diocese on June 26 1984.
On July 1 1993 two new Dioceses Gumla and Simdega were established with territories taken from the Ranchi Archdiocese. On May 12 1995 the new Diocese of Khunti was established with territories taken from the Archdiocese of Ranchi. It comprises the whole Khunti civil Sub-division. In 1998 two more new Dioceses were created North of the Ganges and made suffragans of Ranchi Bettiah and Purnea.
Thus the original Ranchi Diocese divided into 14 Dioceses including the present Archdiocese of Ranchi. On March 161999 the Ranchi Ecclesiastical Province was bifurcated in anticipation of the creation of Jharkhand. Patna Capital of Bihar became an Archdiocese with four suffragans: Bettiah Bhagalpur Muzaffarpur and Purnea.
Prelates of the Archdiocese of Ranchi
Bishop NamePrelate DesignationPeriodBishop NamePrelate DesignationPeriod
Abp. Pius Kerketta SJ 1961-1985 Bp. Nicholas Kujur SJ 1952-1960
Bp. Oscar Sevrin SJ 1934-1951 Bp. Louis Van Hoeck SJ 1928--1933