The presence of the Latin Church in India, particularly on the coast of Quilon(Kollam), has protracted over eleven centuries or more. However, the work of evangelization was enthusiastically revived by the western missionaries in the 13th century. ...Read More


The Syro-Malabar Church traces its origin to St. Thomas the. Apostle, who, according to tradition, came to India in 52 A.D., its members being called St. Thomas Christians. It is one of the four Oriental Churches having in common the East Syrian. ..Read More


The St. Thomas Christian Community, founded in India by the year 52 AD., was further strengthened by a group of Christians immigrated from Persia in 345 AD., paving the way for further relationships with the Churches in the Persian Empire...Read More

Holy Mass

Holy Mass

Holy Mass

Roman Catholic Church

PopeFrancisThe Catholic Church, also known as the Roman Catholic Church, is the largest Christian church, with approximately 1.3 billion baptised Catholics worldwide. As the world's oldest and largest continuously functioning international institution, it has played a prominent role in the history and development of Western civilisation. The church is headed by the Bishop of Rome, known as the pope. Its central administration is the Holy See.....Read More...

Apostolic Nunciature

cropped-logo.pngThe history of the Catholic Church in India is very extensive. It traces its origin in the preaching of the Apostle St. Thomas, who, according to tradition, came to India in 52 A.D., and was martyred in a place called Mylapore near the present town of Chennai (Madras), where his tomb is found. From various records of travelers we know the existence of isolated Christian communities in India already in the year 345 (Travancore). In the 9th century the patriarch of the Nestorians in Persia sent bishops toIndia. There is a record of an Indian bishop visiting Rome...Read More...

Diocese Summary

Diocese : 143
Archdiocese : 30

Total : 173
Diocese : 109
Archdiocese : 23

Total : 132
Diocese : 25
Archdiocese : 5

Total : 30
Diocese : 9
Archdiocese : 2

Total : 11